Kansas City DUI Attorneys
Free Consultation 913-764-9700
Personalized and Dedicated DUI Attorneys We Aggressively Represent and Fight for Our Clients Throughout Kansas

Kansas Felony DUI Attorney

Contact Us Today if You Have Been Charged with a Felony DUI

A third time DUI used to mean a felony. As of July 1, 2011, a third time DUI isn't automatically a felony. It depends when the prior DUI convictions were. One of the big questions is whether there was a DUI conviction since July 1, 2001.

The following is the portion of the new DUI statute addressing this:

"K.S.A. 8-1567 (D) on the a third conviction of a violation of this section, a person shall be guilty of a nonperson felony and if the person has a prior conviction which occurred within the preceding 10 years, not including any period of incarceration. The person convicted shall be sentenced to not less than 90 days nor more than one year's imprisonment and fined not less than $1,750 nor more than $2,500.

The person convicted shall not be eligible for release on probation, suspension or reduction of sentence or parole until the person has served at least 90 days' imprisonment. The 90 days' imprisonment mandated by this paragraph subsection may be served in a work release program only after such person has served 48 consecutive hours' imprisonment, provided such work release program requires such person to return to confinement at the end of each day in the work release program.

The person convicted, if placed into a work release program, shall serve a minimum of 240 hours of confinement. Such 240 hours of confinement shall be a period of at least 48 consecutive hours of imprisonment followed by confinement hours at the end of and continuing to the beginning of the offender's work day."

About Felony DUI Charges

There are a number of reasons why a DUI offense may be charged as a felony in the state of Kansas. All felony DUI charges require the assistance of a highly experienced Kansas DUI lawyer. If you are convicted for a felony DUI, you will have to face extremely severe penalties such as: lengthy jail time, driver's license suspension, thousands of dollars in fines, a permanent felony on your criminal record and more. Felony DUI charges require strong legal defense.

The sooner you contact a lawyer, the more time they will be given to build a strong defense in your name. Remember that any statement you make to the police can be used against you in a court of law. It is best to invoke your constitutional Fifth Amendment right and stay silent. An experienced attorney can deal with law enforcement and greatly improve your chances of avoiding a conviction.

Felony DUI Defense Attorney in Jackson County

The attorney that you choose to handle your case can make a very large impact on the outcome. Our firm has many years of drunk driving defense experience and has helped many clients to overcome a felony conviction. There are countless defense tools that can be used to help you avoid a conviction including: challenging the evidence brought against you and exposing violations made by the arresting officers.

We have helped hundreds of clients obtain not-guilty verdicts, dismissal of charges and favorable pleas. A felony DUI is a serious matter, you will be made to serve jail time if convicted. There is a minimum jail time of thirty days with no exception. If you or someone you love is facing felony DUI charges, the time to act is now. You can greatly improve your chances of receiving a favorable outcome by speaking with an attorney at your earliest convenience.

Contact a Kansas DUI attorney today if you have been arrested for a felony DUI.

We practice extensively and have represented hundreds of clients throughout Johnson County and cities including Olathe, Gardner, Lenexa, Overland Park, Shawnee, Leawood and Kansas City.

  • Proud Members of the Kansas Bar Association

  • Offering 25 Years of Combined Experience

  • We Are a Small Firm That Offers Large Firm Results

  • A+ Rated by the Better Business Bureau